Monday, April 2, 2018

Mailbox Monday - April 2


Mailbox Monday is a meme started by Marcia of To Be Continued. Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. It now has a permanent home at the Mailbox Monday blog.

Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles, and humongous wish lists.

For the record, I should have been in bed an hour ago. It's late Sunday night and I am gearing up for the Amos Faces His Bully virtual book tour. You can check out the schedule here if you want to follow along.

I have a week off of doctor appointments for my father-in-law, so I am hoping I'll be able to catch up on some housework. Honestly, I don't feel like doing any housework, but the place is a mess and the family is coming for Greek Easter on Sunday. Maybe by the following week I can get my exercise back on the schedule too, but spring market is gearing up to be crazy so we will have to see what life brings.

My mailbox held some great gifts this past week. I ordered the first two and the last one is from a friend who wrote a lovely devotional. I'm part of her launch team.


What You Don't See Might Hurt You

Every year, residents of the small Amish community in Monte Vista, Colorado, look forward to the Ski Hi Stampede, the state's oldest professional rodeo. The rodeo is always good, clean entertainment for the hardworking farmers of the San Luis Valley. But this year, the Stampede turns deadly for one Amish man. Did rodeo fans see an unfortunate accident? Or something more sinister?

Amish bishop Henry Lapp is known far and wide for his uncanny ability to draw and remember the smallest details of anything he's seen, skills that have served him well in past investigations. He was at the rodeo that day. The problem? He didn't see Jason Scott's death.

With a murderer on the loose and members of his community being threatened, Henry must act fast. But can he solve a crime he didn't see? This time around, Henry will have to rely on his keen sense of human character and observation, skills he's honed in his role as bishop, if he hopes to crack the case.

What the Bishop Knows is a story of accepting our talents, putting one another first, and trusting that God will care for His children.


A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin’s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs.

Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you’ll ever need.


Perhaps the journey in the waiting is the goal, rather than the actual finish line.

Sometimes while waiting for situations to change, we discover that perhaps what God is waiting on is us. That’s exactly what Lynne set out to discover when she was in a journey of waiting, during a wilderness season of her own. She discovered that perhaps she needed to unbecome everything she had framed her life around because in the process of building a life in this world, we often become consumed with everything other than The Word.

Becoming Unconsumed is an invitation to open the door to the possibilities that exist for us as women when we let go of what the world thinks and build a better relationship with ourselves, each other and, ultimately, God. This book is written for all women. Women who might not know God at all, women who have known Him all their lives, and women who aren’t sure what to think. Organized through reflection and response, Lynne invites us to consider the relevancy of the Word in 2018 and beyond as our faith is energized and confidence is strengthened. It is possible for you to make space for your daily Grace and your daily relationship with God. Lynne is the first to admit she is just a regular woman who decided to listen to God and make it happen.

What was in your mailbox? Hope you have a blessed week.

13 comments:

  1. Becoming Unconsumed sounds good. Hubby and I keep talking about downsizing all of our material 'stuff'. I am also mindful I need to spend more time on the things of God.
    Hope you have a good week.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Martha. Really can't wait to clean out some junk from this place. I'm hoping this devotional will help focus me.

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. It looks really neat. Not sure it's what I expected but I'm glad I bought it.

      Delete
  3. Great mailbox. I'm especially interested in the cookbook you got. You are going to have a great virtual book tour, I know it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Laura. The first review was good, so it was a nice start. Love the cover of this cookbook.

      Delete
  4. I hope you have a great week in books!

    ReplyDelete
  5. You have a nice mix of books. Enjoy! Thanks for sharing...and for visiting my blog.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Laurel. Hope you have a great week.

      Delete
  6. I like the sound of Becoming Unconsumed.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Who The Bishop Knows has a marvelous cover.

    Happy Cleaning and Reading!!

    ReplyDelete