Monday, December 4, 2017

Mailbox Monday - Dec 4


Mailbox Monday is a meme started by Marcia of To Be Continued. Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. It now has a permanent home at the Mailbox Monday blog.

Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles, and humongous wish lists.

Welcome to December! Had to take a moment to change the mailbox photo. Before we know it the white stuff will be falling around here.

Hope you had a great week. Ours was good. The house is about a quarter decorated for Christmas and I've done some shopping. Never ordered Christmas cards, so I might opt for the Christmas letter this year.

I'm reading A Wanted Man by Robert Parker right now and am liking it so far.


Ben Bracken, ex-soldier, has just got out of Strangeways.

Not by the front door.

With him, he has his ‘insurance policy’ – a bag of evidence that will guarantee his freedom, provided he can keep it safe – and he has money, carefully looked after by a friend, Jack Brooker.

Rejected by the army, disowned by his father, and any hopes of parenthood long since shattered, Ben has no anchors in his life.

No one to keep him steady.

No one to stop his cause…

The plan: to wreak justice on the man who had put him in prison in the first place.

Terry ‘The Turn-Up’ Masters, a nasty piece of work, whose crime organisation is based in London.

But before Ben can get started on his mission, another matter is brought to his attention: Jack’s father has been murdered and he will not rest until the killers are found.

Suddenly, Ben finds himself drawn in to helping Jack in his quest for revenge.

In the process, he descends into the fold of Manchester’s most notorious crime organisation – the Berg – the very people he wants to bring down…

This action-packed and fast-paced story will keep you turning the pages. Manchester is vividly portrayed as Ben races around the city seeking vengeance.

Nothing delivered to my physical mailbox but the publisher of one of my favorite cozy series sent me a Netgalley version of the next book due out in the spring.


There are two social functions in Savannah guaranteed to get people talking: weddings and funerals. And just as consignment shop owner Reagan Summerside agrees to marry the hunky Walker Boone, her neighbors, sisters Annie Fritz and Elsie Abbot, step up their business as professional mourners. They are so successful that the Sleepy Pines Retirement Center has hired them as a part of their retirement package. But the celebration over good business is cut short when the residents at Pines suddenly begin dying at an alarming rate. And the sisters are the first suspects.

Reagan has her doubts, however, and begins to look into the strange phenomenon. But then something even stranger happens: a body winds up in the sisters’ pink Caddy. The evidence begins to pile up and the suspicious case of Willie Fishbine, who swindled the sisters out of a fortune and coincidentally died prior to the Pines case, is reopened.

Not wanting Willie to be buried until they can find the killer responsible for the murders, Reagan must catch the culprit in time to walk down the aisle. Witty, fabulous, and full of charm, Lethal in Old Lace is perfect for fans of Ellery Adams and Jenn McKinlay.

That's it from my neck of the woods. Hope you have a blessed week.

8 comments:

  1. Love the title and the cover.

    Have a great week.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lethal in Old Lace looks really good. I hope you enjoy both books!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love cozy mysteries and Lethal in Old Lace looks good. Enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hi Cheryl,

    The arrival of the physical books following GR wins is always quite exciting. However I am probably more delighted when I get an email from an author, publisher, or publicist, inviting me to take part in Blog Tour, or share some promotional posts. One can't help but fell flattered and some of the great new books and authors I have uncovered like this, is amazing.

    Thanks for sharing and have a good week :)


    Yvonne

    ReplyDelete
  5. Or even 'feel' flattered!
    Sorry about that :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ooh, Lethal in Old Lace looks very tempting. Thanks for sharing, and enjoy your week. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I really like the look and sound of Lethal in Old Lace... and the dog is a draw too. I read several Robert Parker suspense years back. I recall he created interesting characters.
    Enjoy your reading!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Looks like you're ready for the holidays. I wish I could say I am

    ReplyDelete